Press "Enter" to skip to content

2020 Epson Pano Award winners

The winners of the 2020 Epson International Pano Awards have been announced, with Canadian photographer, Matt Jackisch, taking home the Open Competition top prize for his photo, Spring Hibernation.

The Open Competition grand prize winning image by Canadian photographer, Matt Jackisch.

Jackisch shot the image in the Coastal Mountains of British Columbia in March. ‘With such a deep snowpack, it was still very wintery up high. I find the more time I spend alone in nature, the quieter my mind gets. The quieter my mind gets, the more subtleties I notice in my surroundings. I only saw this tree because of that state of being. This image was a product of solitude and mindfulness.’

The runner-up in the 2020 Open Competition was Australian photographer, Colin Leonhardt, for his aerial image Mine Waste.

Open Competition runner-up image by Australian photographer, Colin Leonhardt.

The overall winner of the 2020 Amateur Competition was Juan López Ruiz from Spain for his photo of the Cuatro Torres financial complex in Madrid, entitled Light and Dark on the Towers.

‘I really liked the composition of the towers along with one of the canopies in the area. I took the image thinking of doing digital black and white processing and enhancing the contrast by adding shadows and light to create a more impressive image.’

Amateur Competition grand prize winning image by Spanish photographer, Juan López Ruiz.

This year the competition received 5859 entries from 1452 photographers in 96 countries – a record for its 11 year history. Epson Australia provided the category winners with prizes, including an Epson SureColor P7070 printer, an Epson SureColor P5070 printer and an Epson EB-1781W ultra-slim projector.

‘Needless to say this is a year to remember. We thought new entry and judging systems would keep us busy enough, then the world changed,’ said David Evans, competition curator. ‘We doubled down and got to work, and the upshot is a record year for the Pano Awards. We’re overwhelmed with the level of support from entrants and sponsors, especially Epson and we thank you all so very much and also congratulate the winners and highest scoring entrants for 2020 – the year that changed us all.’


The judging panel included Abe Blair, Juan Pablo de Miguel, Paul Hoelen, Lucie Debelkova, Isabella Tabacchi, Aaron Spence, Mieke Boynton, Bill Bailey, Ignacio Palacios, Julie Fletcher, Timothy Poulton, Craig Bill and Carlos Chegado. Click here to see all the category winners and finalists.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Our Business Partners