Press "Enter" to skip to content

Matt Palmer is 2019 Photographer of the Year

Tasmanian photographer Matt Palmer was announced as Australian 2019 Professional Photographer of the Year at a gala dinner at Randwick Racecourse Ballroom in Sydney on Monday evening, in front of over 250 of his AIPP peers.

Matt Palmer
An image from Matt Palmer’s 2019 AIPP Australian Professional Photographer of the Year-winning portfolio.

Matt, 35 from Geilston Bay near Hobart, is a passionate environmentalist and his landscape images depict the impact of climate change on the environment.

‘Three of the photographs are specifically of fire damage and regeneration from the 2019 Tasmanian fire season which saw 3.5 percent of the entire state burned by fire, including vital habitat and pristine forests,’ he explained.

‘To be announced as the 2019 AIPP Australian Professional Photographer of the Year is an accolade I never thought I could achieve in my lifetime. I have such reverence for it and those that have won it before.’

The Australian Institute of Professional Photography (AIPP) awards presentation is a culmination of three days of intense photography judging. A total of 1647 entries were submitted into the awards and of those, 668 were awarded Silvers, 268 awarded Silver Distinctions, 107 awarded a Gold and 14 awarded a Gold Distinction.

Total entries are down only slightly from 2018 levels, when 1814 entries were submitted. This indicates that the Lisa Saad cheating scandal hasn’t had a massive negative impact on AIPP members’ perceptions of the APPAs.

‘The quality of work at this years’ awards was outstanding,’ said AIPP national president Melissa Neumann.

The complete list of 2019 category winners follows:

• AIPP Australian Professional Photographer of the Year: Matt Palmer
• AIPP Australian Commercial Photographer of the Year: Gavin Jowitt
• Australian Documentary Photographer of the Year: Mick Porter
• AIPP Australian Family Photographer of the Year: Naomi Reiter
• AIPP Australian Illustrative Photographer of the Year: Charmaine Heyer
• AIPP Australian Landscape Photographer of the Year: Matt Palmer
• AIPP Australian Nature Photographer of the Year: Peter Eastway
• AIPP Australian Newborn Photographer of the Year: Jodie Andrews
• AIPP Australian Pet/Animal Photographer of the Year: Belinda Richards
• AIPP Australian Portrait Photographer of the Year: Damien Bowerman
• AIPP Australian Travel Photographer of the Year: Andrew McConachy
• AIPP Australian Wedding Photographer of the Year: Paul McCall
• AIPP Australian Creative Photographer of the Year: Peter Rossi
• AIPP Australian Alternative Process Photographer of the Year : Trevor Foon
• AIPP Australian Emerging Photographer of the Year: Barbara Brown
• AIPP Australian Student Photographer of the Year: Scott Dixon
• AIPP Australian Album of the Year: Eric Ronald
• AIPP Australian Photographic Book of the Year: Mick Porter
• AIPP Australian Overseas Award: Janyne Fletcher
• AIPP Highest Scoring Image: Mandarine Montgomery
• AIPP Epson Signatureworthy Award: Peter Rossi
• AIPP Australian Tertiary Institution of the Year: North Metropolitan TAFE
• Aggregate Grand Master Award: Peter Eastway and Charmaine Heyer

The AIPP advocates for excellence in imaging, promotes education and community and is the membership organisation of choice for professional and aspiring image makers.

To view all the winning images, click here:

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Our Business Partners