Press "Enter" to skip to content

‘And the winners are…’

June 30, 2011: The annual photo industry exhibition and conference provides a platform for recognition of industry members who have been judged as putting in an outstanding performance over the past year.

The Golden Tripod Award fittingly went to Richard Robertson in his retirement year. It came as a surprise to many attending the awards event that Robbo had yet to receive the in industry’s top award, given his unmatched record in working cooperatively with competitors, suppliers and industry associations over many years.

Last year’s more controversial choice for PICA Golden Tripod Award winner, PICA president Dave Marshall, made the presentation.

‘I cannot think of a more worthy recipient than Richard. His enthusiasm to talk and share his knowledge with competitors is legendary,’ said Mr Marshall.

Richard Robertson predicted a prosperous future for the photo industry.

‘We are on the path to something great from 2011 onwards,’ he said, adding that he was also confident in the ongoing success of his own company, Ted’s cameras.

‘I walk away on August 26 knowing the company will grow and grow very well,’ he said.

(Robbo will be staying on as PMA chairman for the remainder of this year, handing over the reins at the PMA@CES event next January).

The Dealer of the Year Award went to a Harvey Norman store for the first time, with Bundall franchisee Mathew Orton receiving the prize from Dave Marshall.

Mr Orton acknowledged in a brief acceptance speech that the retailer had ruffled feathers with its aggressive print pricing tactics in photo retailing, but that Harvey Norman stores ‘are very heavily committed to the industry and we are good employers’.

The PMA Distinguished Service Award went to Paul Dawson, Hydro Photographics, while Rachel Edmunds, also of Hydro Photographics, was awarded the ‘Exceptional Future Leader Award‘.

Melbourne photographer Gerard O’Connor has picked up a $20,000 Canon prize pack for being named the 2011 Canon AIPP Australian Professional Photographer of the Year.

In addition to the major award, O’Connor’s portfolio also won the fine art category. One of his four winning images – ‘Beach’ – was also highly commended at this year’s Moran Prize in the contemporary photography category.

AIPP executive officer Peter Myers speaking at the presentation dinner in Sydney last Monday night said: ‘Again, the awards have received a record number of entries from photographers from around the country. This year more than 850 photographers submitted over 3000 images.’

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Our Business Partners